Monday, February 20, 2017

UP Assembly Election 2017 : All about the 3rd phase

The voting for the third phase ended on the Sunday in the 69 assembly constituencies. As the total 826 candidates contested the polls and the total 2.41 crore voters, that includes 1.10 crore women and 1,026 voters belong to third gender category, were eligible to vote the third phase of the assembly polls.

Below are the highlights about the third phase of the Assembly elections :
- According to the Chief Electoral Officer the total turnout of the voters was 61.16 percent after the polling ended at 5 PM. He said that the tight security arrangements had been made at all the 25,603 polling booths.

- The turnout in the 2012 assembly and the 2014 Lok Sabha polls in the area that covered in the thrid phase was 59.96 and 58.43 percent, respectively.

- In this assembly election 2017, the first phase polling turnout was 64.2 and in the second was 65 that is a little over from the first.

- The third phase was a crucial test of the popularity for Akhilesh Yadav. The third phase district includes Farukhabad, Hardoi, Etawah, Kannauj, Auraiya, Mainpuri, Kanpur, Kanpur Dehat, Sitapur, Unnao, Lucknow and Barabanki. The Samajwadi Party had won 55 seats out of total 69 seats.

- The BSP, BJP and Congress had won only six, five and the two seats respectively and the one seat was won by the an independent candidate.

- The Samajwadi Party has to retain all its 55 seats for the prestige of Akhilesh Yadav, but the main stakes will be especially high the districts of Mainpuri, Etawah and Kannauj, these all known to be his family strongholds. Etawah is the Akhilesh's native place, Kannauj Lok Sabha seat represented by his wife Dimple and the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat represented by his cousin Tej Pratap.

- While the Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav voted in Saifai, Etawah, the Mayawati and the Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh cast their votes in the Lucknow.

- The SP leader and Akhilesh's uncle Shivpal Yadav have complained that his supporters have been attacked by the political opponents in his constituency, Jaswantnagar.

- Most of the leaders have claimed that they are going to form the next government the Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati told the reporter, when coming out after casting their vote, that the BSP would win over 300 seats out of 403 seats. The Rajnath Singh claimed that the BJP would definitely form the next government with full majority. While Akhilesh at Safai said that the voters have decided to vote in the favour of the Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance.

No comments:

Post a Comment