Saturday, March 4, 2017

UP Assembly Election 2017; Over 57% turnout in the 6th phase.

Approx 57.03% voters casted their vote on the Saturday in the sixth phase of UP assembly elections that covered 49 assembly constituency that also included Mau from where Mukhtar Ansari is also in the fray.

The UP Chief Electoral Officer said in Lucknow that the poll ends peacefully and polling was approximately 57.03 percent.

The districts who covered under 6th phase are Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

Around 1.72 crore voters, that included 94.60 lakh men and 77.84 lakh women, were casted their votes in the Saturday's polls. The total 635 candidates that included 63 women candidate are in the fray in the 6th phase.

While Azamgarh was being in focus due to Mulayam Singh Yadav, Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency of the BJP leader Yogi Adityanath and the Mau, where the jailed gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari is in the fray, also figured in the this phase of polling.

Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency has the 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won the nine in the 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single rally in his Loksabha constituency.

The BJP is contesting from 45 seats, while its ally Apna Dal is trying its luck only in one seat in this phase.

Another parther of BJP Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting from the three seats. While the BSP fielded its candidates on all the 49 seats, the SP is contesting from 40 seats and the Congress from the 9 seats under the alliance with SP.

The prominent candidates in this phase that included the BSP Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna(Kushinagar), the former BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva(Deoria), Shyam Bahadur Yadav(SP) from Fulpur Pawai(Azamgarh), Ambika Chaudhary of SP and Narad Rai of BSP from Fefna(Ballia) and Ballia Sadar.

While gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari is contesting from Mau, his son Abbas is contesting from the adjoining Ghosi seat.

To ensure free and fair polls and to carried out flag march in the sensitive areas, the central paramilitary forces assisted the local police.

The Indo-Nepal border with the Maharajganj and Gorakhpur, and also that with Bihar were sealed to prevent the mischief makers from the sneaking into the Indian terriotory or from escaping.

The total of 17,926 polling booths and the 10,820 polling centres have been set up in the sixth phase. The highest number of the 23 candidates are contesting from the Gorakhpur and the least (7) number are from Mohammadabad Gohna seat that is in the Mau district.

Seventh phase is schedule to be held on 8th March, 2017...

No comments:

Post a Comment